Boulders, Oats and Sponsors

Hey there! As promised, I am here with another post for you guys.

Last Sunday I set off to Bradford to visit my friend Juozas and crush some boulders in Yorkshire. It was so nice to escape London and go climb some rock.
However, after pulling on plastic for very long time (~3 months) with no pleasure of touching a rock I noticed that i need to climb outdoors a lot more. Climbing indoors got me strong, but my footwork is ridiculous.
So, I took couple of boulders where footwork is much more important than strong fingers.

Photo: John Henstock

Photo: John Henstock

I fell, and fell again, and again… But after a day I managed to switch to Gritstone mode a bit more and climbed a 7B (V8) slab Synnert’s Saunter.

Couple days ago we went on a photo shoot with Troll Outdoors. I remember the moment we stepped into their office, my nose was hit by very strong lavender, and lemon oil scent. At first I couldn’t recognize the smell, but then I spotted a pile of Boot Bananas in the corner. A tour behind the curtain to see how Boot Bananas are made by hand was really cool. I must say I am very happy to represent this friendly company.

Photo: John Henstock

Photo: John Henstock

Every day seems to have been the same, but very different as well at the same time. We would usually get up at 7 indulge ourselves with a bowl of amazing oat porridge and a cup of coffee, and set of through the valleys of Yorkshire.
I was thinking, – If I lived somewhere closer to the nature outside London, or any other big city, would it make me as happy as leaving the big smoke. Would it be the same situation as having one chocolate sweet versus a bag of sweets? The less you get more you appreciate… I cannot say I hate urban surroundings, I just do not like very big cities. A quick escape possibility to outdoors, and I mean proper outdoors, not a park in a town, is massively important to me.

Me and Juozas were filming a bit. Here’re two teasers to keep your excitement until we release the whole video some time soon.

Tagged , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

