First Pancake – Not So burnt!

I has been 9 days since I have started my month long journey in Germany, Switzerland and France. I am loving it so far!

First stop was, Friedrichshafen, where I helped out Boot Bananas and Troll Outdoors at the massive OutDoor fade show. I was surprised how big it was. I had to buy a cruiser skateboard so I could get around quicker. As a total newbie to the fair I was absorbing and learning so much in such a short period of time. I won’t lie – maybe only 2/3 of the whole expo was something I wanted to see and was interested even if it was not related to climbing directly. A lot of stands were from asian companies displaying all sorts of fabrics.

The most fun I had while promoting Boot Bananas. I made this short social media video for their instagram page.

A video posted by @bootbananas on Jul 17, 2015 at 9:22am PDT

Outdoor people know how to work hard and play hard. The party at the end was great. Traditional German food and beers for ones who drink, a stage of rock music and one for the EDM fans.

It was hard to fit training/climbing around. During days it was roasting hot, but I managed to squeeze a fingerboard session on my van fitted beast maker and a cheeky session on the warm up bouldering wall for German Nationals, which took place during the trade fair.

At the moment I am in Chamonix. Duncan – another friend who lives in Chamonix – took us climbing to one of their spots. After warming up on Expresso F7A, I worked a sustained route (F7C+) with some powerful moves. I want to go back and tick it.

Robbie Phillips has joined me for a week. Yesterday we went up to Digital Crack just below Aiguille du Midi station. The scotsman managed to send it in the second go. For me, however, I was a bit more difficult and I was spanked by the route. I made a very quick observation, that my footwork, or rather trusting my feet is now as good as I would like it to be.

Robbie working the Digital Crack 8A

Robbie working the Digital Crack 8A

Two more weeks in the beautiful Chamonix, then Matterhorn. Keep checking this space for new blog in a week. In meantime go crush hard. As my good friend and training guru Dave Culver (BLOCFIT) said: Sit less – Campus more!
Au revoir!

Leave a Reply

